About Us

The CBS Board Leadership Education was established in the summer of 2013 and has seen much success and growth, with chairpersons, board members and C-Suite executives from the Danish corporate world passing through its doors. The diverse participant mix come from a wide range of industries, such as manufacturing (23%), professional services (18%) and finance, service and IT respectively (15%).

The CBS Board Leadership Education is an engaging learning experience—one that empowers participants to reflect, refresh and recharge. The distinct selection of programs offers participants the chance to question and challenge the boards role and approach to strategy, succession planning and financial & risk management, among other important tasks. Through board leadership practices focused on value creation and state-of-the-art corporate governance, participants will immerse themselves in in-depth discussions and lectures by world-class faculty, with the goal of returning to their duties with fresh insights on how to manage dilemmas, determine new strategies and continue to develop the capabilities of management and organizations.

The CBS Board Leadership Education provides in depth knowledge of today’s rapidly changing business environment and equips participants with the skills and tools that sharpen their board leadership competencies.

At this point in time, the CBS Board Leadership Education and its corresponding programs are in Danish. Participants need to be able to both understand and speak Danish at a level that ensures a valuable learning experience by allowing them to participate fully in the fast-paced programs. The CBS Board Leadership Education will begin to offer selected programs in English in 2017/18.


The CBS Board Leadership Education is a network-based organization, partnering with Copenhagen Business School professors, leading chairs from the Danish corporate world and distinguished advisors. The partnership is hosted by CBS Executive, Kromann Reumert and EY.

Since its inception in the summer of 2013, the CBS Board Leadership Education has completed 84 board programs in over 280 program days and has had 550 case sessions attended by more than 900 board chairs and members, C-suite executives, investors and business owners. The faculty consists of 120 experienced board chairpersons, non-executive directors, advisors and professors.

Kromann Reumert

Kromann Reumert is the leading law firm in Denmark with offices in Copenhagen, Aarhus and London. With the purpose to develop board work in Denmark, Kromann Reumert co-founded Bestyrelsesforeningen (the Board Leadership Society in Denmark) with Copenhagen Buisness School, EY, Dansk Industri (Confederation of Danish Industry), Pension Denmark, Dansk Erhverv (Confederation of Danish Enterprise), DVCA (Danish Venture Capital and Private Equity Association) and CBS Executive. Starting with these eight companies, plus 24 chairs and 10 professors, the Society has now grown to 600 members.

As part of the overall initiative, Kromann Reumert co-established the CBS Board Leadership Education with CBS Executive and EY with the goal and aspiration to bring the board work discipline and corporate governance practices to Denmark.


EY is one of the largest professional services firm in the world and provides assurance (including financial audit), tax, consulting and advisory services to their customers. As part of “Building a Better Working World”, EY launched the EY Center for Board Matters, a forum where board members and chairpersons can discuss current issues relating to corporate governance practices and exchange ideas and insights.

Using their professional competencies, relationships and proprietary corporate governance database, EY are able to identify trends and emerging governance challenges. With their ambition to provide targeted knowledge, practical tools and professional advice, the EY Center for Board Matters Denmark teamed up with CBS Executive and Kromann Reumert to bring together and engage boards, C-suite executives, investors and business owners.

CBS Executive

CBS Executive, founded in 1991, is a non-profit foundation offering post-graduate educational programs on a commercial basis to executives and businesses. CBS Executive is located in one of the four main campuses of Copenhagen Business School and builds on cooperation between the university faculty and the business world.


The CBS Board Leadership Education is located at Porcelænshaven, one of the four main campus buildings that comprise of Copenhagen Business School in Frederiksberg. Formerly the Royal Copenhagen Porcelain Factory, the factory was converted into 20,000 m2 of student classrooms, study spaces, offices, and a student residence. As part of the factory conversion, Henning Larsen Architects transformed the old raw material storage building, Raavarebygningen, into 3,800 m2 of modern study and office space, and this is where the CBS Board Leadership Education holds their programs.